Search Search

Awards and Recognitions

Everhart Distinguished Graduate Student Lecture Series

The Everhart Lecture Series is a forum to encourage interdisciplinary interaction among graduate students and faculty, to share ideas about recent research developments, problems and controversies, and to recognize the exemplary presentation and research abilities of Caltech's graduate students.  Lecturers discuss topics at a level suitable for graduate students and faculty from all fields, while addressing current research issues.

Each fall, graduate student lecturers are selected to present their work as part of the Everhart Lecture Series based on each student's:

  • Dynamic speaking skills, which capture the attention of and convey research material clearly to a diverse technical audience
  • Ability to communicate their research field's broader importance
  • Impact on the scientific community through their research

Lecturers receive an honorarium and recognition at the commencement ceremony.  Streaming video records of previous Everhart Lectures can view viewed online on the Caltech iTunesU channel.

Milton and Francis Clauser Doctoral Prize

The Milton and Francis Clauser Doctoral Prize is awarded annually to a Ph.D. candidate whose research is judged to exhibit the greatest degree of originality as evidenced by its potential for opening up new avenues of human thought and endeavor as well as by the ingenuity with which it has been carried out.  The Milton and Francis Clauser Doctoral Prize is made possible by gifts from the family and friends of these twin alumni, who received bachelor's degrees in physics in 1934, master's degrees in mechanical engineering in 1935, and doctor's degrees in aeronautics in 1937. 

2016 recipient Rachel Galimidi

Rachel Galimidi

For a list of previous recipients of the Clauser Prize, click here.

The EAS memorial for Francis Clauser has additional information on the Clauser family and links to a photo gallery and related articles.

Graduate Dean's Award for Outstanding Community Service

This award is made annually to a Ph.D. candidate who, throughout their years at the Institute, has made great contributions to graduate life and whose qualities of leadership and responsibility have been outstanding.

For a list of previous recipients of the Dean's Award, click here.

3MT (Three Minute Thesis)

On April 15, 2016, the Caltech Library hosted its first Three Minute Thesis 3MT competition, sponsored by Springer Nature.  Created by the University of Queensland, the contest challenges final year PhD students to explain their research in an engaging and clear 3-minute talk, intended for a non-specialist audience.

2016 Results

First Prize: Anton Toutov

Second Prize: Utkarsh Mital

People's Choice Award: Utkarsh Mital